• " Des millions de gens vont mourir à cause du réchauffement climatique. Des centaines de millions de gens vont devenir des réfugiés climatiques. Ces chiffres comptent, parce que ce ne sont pas seulement des chiffres – il s'agit d'individus, avec chacun une famille, des habitudes, des phobies, des allergies, des aliments préférés, des rêves récurrents, une chanson qui lui est restée dans la tête, des empreintes uniques et un rire particulier. [...] Il est difficile de prendre en charge des millions de vies. Mais il est impossible de ne pas prendre soin d'une seule. Cependant, peut-être n'avons-nous pas besoin de nous soucier de ces millions de gens. Il nous suffit de les sauver. "
    Après l'immense succès de Faut-il manger les animaux ?, Jonathan Safran Foer revient à la charge : l'élevage intensif des animaux est responsable du dérèglement climatique. L'extinction de la planète aura lieu parce que nous mangeons trop de viande. Avec empathie, avec humour, l'auteur analyse les défis auxquels nous devons faire face. Parce qu'il n'est pas trop tard pour inverser la tendance. Et que l'avenir de la planète commence maintenant, dans notre assiette.
    Traduit de l'anglais (États-Unis) par Marc Amfreville.

  • Comment traitons-nous les animaux que nous mangeons ?
    Convoquant souvenirs d'enfance, données statistiques et arguments philosophiques, Jonathan Safran Foer interroge les croyances, les mythes familiaux et les traditions nationales avant de se lancer lui-même dans une vaste enquête.
    Entre une expédition clandestine dans un abattoir, une recherche sur les dangers du lisier de porc et la visite d'une ferme où l'on élève les dindes en pleine nature, J.S. Foer explore tous les degrés de l'abomination contemporaine tout en se penchant sur les derniers vestiges d'une civilisation qui respectait encore l'animal.
    Choquant, drôle, inattendu, ce livre d'un des jeunes écrivains américains les plus doués de sa génération a déjà suscité passions et polémiques aux Etats-Unis et en Europe.

  • " Sam sentit que tout allait exploser, mais il ignorait précisément quand et comment. "
    À la veille de sa bar-mitsva, le fils de Jacob et Julia Bloch est soupçonné d'être l'auteur d'injures racistes, ce qui lui vaut son renvoi du lycée. Pendant ce temps, Julia trouve sur le téléphone de son mari une série de textos pornographiques.
    On pense aux Scènes de la vie conjugale de Bergman revues par Philip Roth. À une fable délirante à la Mel Brooks. Ou aux deux à la fois. Car dans le monde de Jonathan Safran Foer, tout peut arriver, le meilleur comme le pire. Dans ce roman dont les dialogues crépitent comme des balles, on découvre que la grande et la petite histoire ne font qu'un. On passe ainsi sans crier gare du sacrifice d'Abraham à une théorie de la masturbation, d'un portrait d'Oliver Sacks à une analyse de la situation au Proche-Orient, de l'éloge du désir à la nostalgie du bonheur familial.
    Brillant, féroce, déchirant, désopilant, Me voici est l'œuvre la plus aboutie d'un écrivain dont le talent ne connaît plus de limites.

  • Tout est illuminé Nouv.

  • "An astonishing feat" THE TIMESA young man arrives in the Ukraine, clutching in his hand a tattered photograph. He is searching for the woman who fifty years ago saved his grandfather from the Nazis. Unfortunately, he is aided in his quest by Alex, a translator with an uncanny ability to mangle English into bizarre new forms; a "blind" old man haunted by memories of the war; and an undersexed guide dog named Sammy Davis Jr, Jr. What they are looking for seems elusive -- a truth hidden behind veils of time, language and the horrors of war. What they find turns all their worlds upside down.

  • Eating Animals is Jonathan Safran Foer's eye-opening account of where meat comes from
    'I simply wanted to know - for myself and my family - what meat is. Where does it come from? How is it produced? What are the economic, social and environmental effects? Are there animals that it is straightforwardly right to eat? Are there situations in which not eating animals is wrong? If this began as a personal quest, it didn't stay that way for long . . . ' Jonathan Safran Foer's Eating Animals is the most original book on the subject of food written this century. It will change the way you think, and change the way you eat. For good.'Moving, disturbing, should be compulsory reading. A genuine masterwork. Read this book. It will change you' Time Out
    'Shocking, incandescent, brilliant' The Times
    'Everyone who eats flesh should read this book' Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall'Gripping, horrible, wonderful, breathtaking, original. A brilliant synthesis of argument, science and storytelling. One of the finest books ever written on the subject of eating animals' The Times Literary Supplement
    'Horrifying, eloquent, timely' Spectator
    'If you eat meat and fish, you should read this book. Even if you don't, you should. It might bring the beginning of a change of heart about all living things' Joanna LumleyJonathan Safran Foer was born in 1977. He is the author of Everything is Illuminated, which won the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book award; Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, which is now a major film starring Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock; and Eating Animals. He is also the editor of A Convergence of Birds and of a new edition of the Haggadah.

  • Jonathan Safran Foer emerged as one of the most original writers of his generation with his best-selling debut novel, Everything Is Illuminated. Now, with humor, tenderness, and awe, he confronts the traumas of our recent history. What he discovers is solace in that most human quality, imagination.
    Meet Oskar Schell, an inventor, Francophile, tambourine player, Shakespearean actor, jeweler, pacifist, correspondent with Stephen Hawking and Ringo Starr. He is nine years old. And he is on an urgent, secret search through the five boroughs of New York. His mission is to find the lock that fits a mysterious key belonging to his father, who died in the World Trade Center on 9/11.
    An inspired innocent, Oskar is alternately endearing, exasperating, and hilarious as he careens from Central Park to Coney Island to Harlem on his search. Along the way he is always dreaming up inventions to keep those he loves safe from harm. What about a birdseed shirt to let you fly away? What if you could actually hear everyone's heartbeat? His goal is hopeful, but the past speaks a loud warning in stories of those who've lost loved ones before. As Oskar roams New York, he encounters a motley assortment of humanity who are all survivors in their own way. He befriends a 103-year-old war reporter, a tour guide who never leaves the Empire State Building, and lovers enraptured or scorned. Ultimately, Oskar ends his journey where it began, at his father's grave. But now he is accompanied by the silent stranger who has been renting the spare room of his grandmother's apartment. They are there to dig up his father's empty coffin.

  • “Imagine a novel as verbally cunning as A Clockwork Orange, as harrowing as The Painted Bird, as exuberant and twee as Candide, and you have Everything Is Illuminated . . . Read it, and you'll feel altered, chastened -- seared in the fire of something new.” -- Washington Post /> /> With only a yellowing photograph in hand, a young man -- also named Jonathan Safran Foer -- sets out to find the woman who might or might not have saved his grandfather from the Nazis. Accompanied by an old man haunted by memories of the war, an amorous dog named Sammy Davis, Junior, Junior, and the unforgettable Alex, a young Ukrainian translator who speaks in a sublimely butchered English, Jonathan is led on a quixotic journey over a devastated landscape and into an unexpected past. /> /> As their adventure unfolds, Jonathan imagines the history of his grandfather’s village, conjuring a magical fable of startling symmetries that unite generations across time. As his search moves back in time, the fantastical history moves forward, until reality collides with fiction in a heart-stopping scene of extraordinary power. /> /> “A rambunctious tour de force of inventive and intelligent storytelling . . . Foer can place his reader’s hand on the heart of human experience, the transcendent beauty of human connections. Read, you can feel the life beating.” -- Philadelphia Inquirer

  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFrom the bestselling author of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Everything is Illuminated and We are the Weather - a rich and moving novel about modern family lives and the ties that bind'Towering and glorious: a tale of social, familial and marital breakdown and the End of the World. The funniest literary novel I have ever read' The Times'A rich, beautifully written, ambitious and grandly moving novel, which looks both at the world at large and at the deepest concerns of individual lives' Evening Standard 'Lays bare the interior of a marriage with such intelligence and deep feeling and pitiless clarity, it's impossible to read it and not re-examine your own family' Time'Astonishing. So sad and so funny and so wry' Scotland on Sunday Jacob and Julia Bloch are about to be tested ... By Jacob's grandfather, who won't go quietly into a retirement home. By the family reunion, that everyone is dreading. By their son's heroic attempts to get expelled. And by the sexting affair that will rock their marriage. A typical modern American family, the Blochs cling together even as they are torn apart. Which is when catastrophe decides to strike ... Confronting the enduring question of what it means to be human with inventiveness, playfulness and compassion, Here I Am is a great American family novel for our times, an unmissable read for fans of Jonathan Franzen and Michael Chabon, a masterpiece about how we live now.

  • Anglais Here I Am

    Jonathan Safran Foer

    God asked Abraham to sacrifice his beloved son Isaac, and Abraham replied obediently, "Here I am."
    This is the story of a fracturing family in a moment of crisis. Over the course of three weeks in present-day Washington, D.C., three sons watch their parents' marriage falter and their family home fall apart. Meanwhile, a large catastrophe is engulfing another part of the world: a massive earthquake devastates the Middle East, sparking a pan-Arab invasion of Israel. With global upheaval in the background and domestic collapse in the foreground, Jonathan Safran Foer asks us: What is the true meaning of home? Can one man ever reconcile the conflicting duties of his many roles– husband, father, son? And how much of life can a person ultimately bear?

empty